Do As I Say. Or as I do.

May 21, 2008 at 10:59 am (Beast Mastery, Hunterology, Survival)

Yes, I’m BM. Que the booing and hissing. Blasphemer, betrayer, blah blah blah.

Am I truly a Judas? Pshh. I’m what’s essentially a class officer for Project X (unofficially referred to as the “Hunter Guidance Counselor”); I’m the one setting the good example for the other hunters in the guild. Some of them can DPS, but can’t trap; others can trap, but can’t DPS; Some can’t manage their pets, but DPS and trap effectively. It’s my job to help them out wherever possible.

Thing is, PX is going for 25 mans. We’re slowly getting there – we’ve got a Gruul run on June 1st, and planning on more raiding during the summer. We’ve got talent; in two TK runs, we’ve cut our trash wipes from 20 to 2 before getting to Solarian. What we lack is damage and true raid synergy.

Why did I spec Survival? For monster crits, CC-ability, and the good of the raid. Expose Weakness, I argued, is totally worth it to give up my personal DPS; we’ll have enough guys that can make use of it.

Project X doesn’t have enough guys that can make use of it; our top DPSers are a Warlock, a Mage, and a Rogue; the rest of the top ten has two more mages, another warlock, another rogue, an enhancement shaman, a shadow priest, and a BM hunter. On our last TK run, I cut in at #11. I knew I was going to be giving up a lot as a Survival hunter. But the numbers just weren’t working out to justify it.

We’ve got more spellcasters, and as such, they would benefit from the FI proc. Instead of just adding 10 or 14 DPS, we’re talking about adding nearly 30 DPS to one person. And that’s on top of the major boost in personal DPS. The math don’t lie; it makes more sense to be BM at this point for my guild, especially since I know what I’m doing and can make the most out of it.

So what’s my plan? Stay BM for the time being, and accrue the gear that will eventually allow me to spec Survival and come back to what I love. Druids flip between healing and tanking, Warriors flip between DPS and Tanking, it’s not much of a nicht-nicht if I flip between DPS and Raid Buff.

Besides, there’s an entire site here of Survival knowledge. I joke and chide BM hunters for being cat jockeys (I personally have a wolf named Zakk) and Marks hunters for being gun nuts, but if there’s one thing I’ve always stressed, it’s to not be close-minded about the class, and learn whatever you can in order to be a better hunter.

That’s what Survival does to you; it forces you to learn more in order to succeed. You take that to any other tree, and you will kick ass and chew bubblegum ’till you’re all out of bubblegum.

-Track

3 Comments

  1. Vixenytli & Chuck said,

    Makes sense. Until you have over 400 agi (which i think you might) SV is a hard spec to maximize the potential of. BM, I like to think, is a lot like WOW itself. It’s easy to learn, but hard to master- hence the ongoing interest for me. I “got” it right away, but I’m always working on it.

    If I ever actually make it into one of our 25 mans I’ll be posting about it- look for updates. I’ll try to be as detailed as I can.

  2. survivalhuntersanonymous said,

    Mm, totally. I was getting the raid combinations mixed up, but here’s a complete list of the people who went to our last TK run, and their average DPS (ranked by overall damage, not DPS). There are 26, as we had to sub in a priest for our last attempt on Solarian, and had a latecomer. Names changed.

    1. Cool – Mage – 876
    2. Master – Shaman – 738
    3. Lis – Warlock – 1021
    4. Vinny – Rogue – 659
    5. Bladez – Rogue – 630
    6. Purdy – Hunter – 809
    7. Boggy – Hunter – 624
    8. Instant – Priest – 615
    9. Katrina – Mage – 710
    10. OneEightSeven – Hunter – 491
    11. Trackhoof – Hunter – 503
    12. TR – Druid – 416 (part-time tank)
    13. Lockette – Warlock – 571
    14. Blayze – Mage – 535
    15. Klaatu – Paladin – 364
    16. Gismo – Warlock – 670
    17. MiniMe – Warrior (tank) 246
    18. Buck – Warrior (tank ) – 171
    19. Rockballs – Warrior (tank) – 160
    20. Delilah – Warlock – 1199 (came in late)

    As you can see, there’s 8 casters, 10 physical DPS – of which, 4 are tanks – leaving 6 physical DPSers that can benefit from Expose Weakness. Say I hit 1000 Agility raidbuffed, which, given new gear, is possible; I’d give each of them 250 AP, which would give each person an 18 DPS boost.

    I’ve gotten, on average, around 700 personal DPS, not including the pet, which would bring it up about another 180 at minimum, just in 10-mans with BM with my wolf (not the ideal DPS pet, but my ravager’s still kicking around at 67, and he needs to gain levels now!)

    Our raid DPS last time was around 5800, with 17 DPsing sources, which comes out to around 340 DPS per person.

    We should be doing a hell of a lot better. 😐

  3. survivalhuntersanonymous said,

    oh, and I suppose WoWstats also takes into account death (as in how long we *weren’t* doing DPS… which, for me, was frequent, as I was the token puller and first to die)

Leave a Reply

