All Things Must Pass

February 23, 2008 at 12:00 pm (Survival)

I believe it was Pike who said that it was only a matter of time before she got tired of playing WoW, and decided to move on.

It’s kind of inevitable for all of us, really. It’s a lot like falling in and out of love.

The initial thrills of discovery, the excitement of something fresh and new, followed by closeness and comfort, which in turn, can lead to growing apart.

I, personally, have reached a plateau in my playing. My skill exceeds my gear. I’m not saying that I’m the best PVP Hunter on the planet, or that by any means I am the best Hunter, Survival or otherwise, on Ravenholdt.

To be truthful, though, if we’re talking top 10 on the server… the answer’s a definite yes.

In order to get past this plateau, I’d have to sink even more time into the game than I’m currently willing, able, or will be in the future. Countless hours in PVP, more hours doing absent-minded quests for a flyer just so I can get keyed, and even though I’ve never been to Karazhan, I have no doubt that, with the right people, I could do it in my sleep.

Speaking of which, raiding until 2 in the morning? Can’t really pull that. I’m not the spry youngster I used to be years ago. (I’m 22, I’ve earned the right to be somewhat crotchety.)

So Drotara and Warbull, sorry guys. Would’ve been nice to chat more and enjoy Illidan, but hey, what can you do?

As for my guildies, they’ll get on without me. I’ve spent the better part of a year trying to catch up to them casually, and it’s clear they don’t need me.

And in regards to my loyal readers, however many of you there are, thank you. Knowing that there is an audience out there that enjoys my writing is encouraging.

I’m walking away from the game at my prime. I’m not quitting, or making a big fuss. Account’s cancelled, changed my password to something I’ll never remember, and that’s it.

Site’s here if you need it.

Adios.

-Track

11 Comments

  1. Pike said,

    Track, you’re an awesome guy with an awesome and highly witty writing style. I hope you go on to do more with that.

    I feel like I didn’t get to read your blog for very long, but regardless, I very much enjoyed it and I wish you all the best in your future endeavors. The real world needs hunters too, to think outside of the box and take risks.

    Take care and thanks for all the inspiration and good advice!

    -Pike

  2. kotaros said,

    Track,

    Mate I’m very sad to see you go and will miss your posts here. They have been helpful and great to read, and as Pike mentions, it’s a shame more Hunters won’t think outside the box. I appreciate everything you have mentioned above…the time invested is not small at end game.

    All the very best for the future, and if you ever decide to come back (I took 6 months off myself not long ago), transfer over to Runetotem and look me up šŸ™‚ We’ll form our own Survival hunters guild šŸ˜›

    Take care champ, and don’t be afraid to drop me a line anytime on email.

    Kotaro

  3. megan said,

    Aww, good luck Track!

  4. Nightravyn said,

    Aww Track, you’ll be missed. šŸ˜¦ Ditto to everything said so far, and all the best! ::hugs::

  5. Drotara said,

    That’s too bad. šŸ˜¦ I know the feeling, I hit that point a couple times. I just take a break, catch up on the games I had missed and then I come back and find a renewed interest in the game. But sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. šŸ˜¦

    I am 25 now blessed with a wife who enjoys the game like I do, so I foresee myself enjoying the game long into WotLK. If you ever want to come back on a different character and explore what other classes offer, Hello Kitty Online World (Fearsome, I know) would be more than willing to have you to help keep ya company. šŸ™‚

    Take care.

  6. one among many said,

    I’m 23 and female…but did basically the same thing. While I was not the top top top of my game…I was fairly good in my eyes. It’s the same old grind. 3 years running. I gave it up for good. Actually video games as a whole are no longer part of my life. I have the same blog but talk about RL now instead of the game.

    Best of luck in everything you do. Honestly though RL requires no luck or well wishes. I’m glad you found a new path and hope you follow it to fun/happy/great places.

  7. guy said,

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    You will be missed bud.

  8. Sellia said,

    It’s sad to see you go, but it’s for the best I’m sure. Take care ! šŸ™‚

  9. Vixenytli & Chuck said,

    Track- This makes us sooo sad! We just found you and we were just starting to really like you. We’re gonna go pout now.

  10. Bellwether said,

    Aw, I’m gonna miss you, tracky. Say hi once in a while, okay?

  11. Asirae said,

Leave a Reply

