So, yeah…

August 14, 2008 at 11:57 am (Uncategorized)

I don’t know what to write.

I mean, Drotara’s in the beta. He actually has kewl Survival stuff to talk about. Me, I’ve been so busy that I haven’t even been on WoW in a month, and despite hitting the big 2-0-0-0-0, I’m debating whether I even want to play again.

I love my guildies, yeah. I enjoy the game every now and then, but I feel like I’m back where I was in February. Things changed, the new dynamic doesn’t work for me; I can’t do Friday raids, and I’m not sure whether I want to do Sunday raids anymore either.

I loved being in on it, though. I think that’s the thing I’ll miss the most. I loved being there for a part of Project X history, where we, as a group, came together and took some bad mothers down, for the first time.

And sure, I’d like to be in a progression guild. I like the challenge. I even rolled a priest, something I swore I’d never go back to, because I thought having a new toon would give me a new challenge (and I wanted one that looked like Elvis). But it felt bland. It felt empty, not exciting.

I guess my problem is that my interests change quickly. Very few things really stick with me; I like to pick and choose and check new things out. It’s funny, because I’m a very stable guy, but I like to try new things as often as I am able. So, between that and my slightly chaotic life for the last year, WoW provided some stability, something I could come back to, and yes, there was waffling (“I’m quitting! No I’m not! Yes I am! No I’m not!”)

When my work schedule meant I couldn’t get to see my friends on any consistent basis, I found new ones in the game. It was something that helped me forget about how much life was out of my control; and it made me feel like I had some course for my real life, which I didn’t. This was a fault of mine; I just didn’t want to face reality.

So, now I have. I’m going back to school for a Master’s, and moving on with my life. And while there are a many great challenges in the game, I’m going with the ones in real life.

I thought about writing a nice little story for you all from Track’s point of view. And I did, actually. But I’m keeping that for myself. It’s closure.

Take care, and have a nice life, virtual or otherwise.

-Trackhoof

8 Comments

  1. one among many said,

    Hey Track,

    Always nice to hear what you’ve got to say. Realizing certain things (in this post) should fill a void you might be feeling. WoW was there for the crazy, unstable times, but isn’t needed once you’re right on track…(i swear there’s no pun there!)

    Best of luck to you in everything you do in the real world and otherwise.

    ~One among many aka Cait

  2. Ray said,

    Nooooo! Man… Just when I found a great survival blog. Oh well. If that’s what you want to do, go ahead.

    Good luck Track! I knew you the least, but I’ll still miss ya.

  3. Pike said,

    Best of luck in the future Track. <3

  4. Kordwar said,

    >.>

    <.<

    come back to ravenholdt?

    :D

  5. survivalhuntersanonymous said,

    @ Everybody

    Thanks. It’s odd, I know I’ve made this “decision” to quit several times before, and now it seems that I’m terribly indecisive. I’m like a smoker who could always go for one more drag. :P

    And Kordwar, no, I will not come back to Ravenholdt. But, since it was a RP realm, and Trackhoof did do some RP-ing (he was in Horns of the Shu’Halo briefly), the last post I make on SHA will be a character story-post; the retirement and long life outside of hunting. And you can pretend the Orc is whoever you want it to be. :P

    -Track

  6. Nihira said,

    Best of Luck to you, I can relate to what you’re saying. totally.

  7. Bandet said,

    Sorry to see a fellow survivalist leave.

    I know EXACTLY how you felt.. I had been there. I got warlord, and then Gladiator.. and decided.. What is left? I wasn’t dumb enough to fret over getting HWL because that took too much time or the impracticality of Vengeful Gladiator.. A hunter has no place in there, much less a survival hunter. I am but human, and nothing more.

    But. really. After I quit, I was happy to be gone. I played Age of Conan all summer and two things that really killed the game for me: One, the graphics. They were amazing. That was the problem. Even on a good computer, in the mass PvP the game is designed for when players attack other players cities.. You get about 2 FPS in the smaller, 40 man max fights. Even with turning the graphics down.

    The second thing.. there is nothing in the game
    You get to 80, and guess what. Nothing. There is absolutely ZERO endgame.. so what do you do? You gank people getting to 80 from 70. There is ONE zone to go from 70-80, and thats where all the 80s camp, and there is no sides. Everyone can kill everyone. even people in your guild can kill you.

    So thats the endgame. Ganking.

    Ganking gets boring.

  8. Bandet said,

    Cont’d.. Err.. >.> clicked poast too erly

    So yeah, I got bored.. and now I’m back.

    However much WoW sucks, the fact is that it is currently the best game.

    And I only have two things I find in WoW that is fun is making movies, and doing arenas. Sure, arenas are a bitch to do, but I have a thrill in winning an uneven match. In all honesty, when its a fair match, I almost always win. So thus, fighting a fair fight is boring..

    Your Rping qutting post has inspired me to finish the story of the Survivalist, and you can check its progress on my blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

